Discipleship, Part 1

Sunday Service

  • 21 August 2016
  • Pastor Arnie Hall
  • Discipleship: “Go and make disciples” – Jesus

Excuses:

  • I’m too busy…
  • We have to get on the property market right now!
  • We have little ones…
  • My health isn’t great…
  • My kids have got sports that day…
  • Work is just so busy…
  • I’m tired!
  • It’s the Holy Spirit’s job.
  • I’m studying at the moment.
  • As soon as my business is sorted…
  • When my kids are older…
  • I don’t have the skills…

Following Jesus competes with so many things…

  • The voice “of the world” is so loud!
  • The world will demand loudly your time and your attention.

His Voice isn’t the loudest that we hear, but it is the best.

  • It does call us to sacrifice.
  • But He calls us to our best opportunities.

 


 

This week:

  • Monday:
    • Just another day in paradise.
    • Commuting because I was meant to pickup Hamish from St John cadets, but he didn’t attend this week. So, I got to attend my Overeaters Anonymous group in Drury instead. Timely. Very good. Gotta work on my Abstinence Plan.
  • Tuesday:
    • Oscars practice. Fiona at Alpha Course (assisting). Pickup Aimee from South Auckland Middle School at 7pm (because she was helping with its Open Day for new entrants).
    • Engaging User Experience people in creating new configuration screens for Managed Voice – Voice Connect service under My Spark Digital platform.
  • Wednesday
    • Public Wi-Fi Intranet app: worked out that I needed to convert the input data model into an output data model in order to make the MVC (Model View Controller) pattern work properly.
    • Product Provisioning Tracker app: worked out that I needed to create a SQL Server change script to renumber our Step ID’s for the new Voice product in a big-bang approach. Must update the tables and stored procedures at the same moment.
  • Thursday
    • Worked from home. This allowed me to pick up Aimée from South Auckland Middle School at 4:30pm, after her Krav Maga self-defence class.
    • “Gutsy and Good” men’s course, lesson #4: Shame and guilt. A great explanation of the difference between guilt (good) and shame (bad).
  • Friday
    • Final rehearsal with the guys at lunchtime at Hyland Associates at 300 Queen Street.
    • I failed to connect with J.T. this week at work in order to offer to start to make amends for my poor performance earlier. However, she approached me for a work-related resource, so I was able to respond most positively.
  • Saturday
    • MCBC Toastmasters Club Humorous Speech competition. I got second place.
    • Oscar’s (Talent Show) Night at MCBC. I was in group JCG2. We sung “Eye of the Lion” with complicated choreography. We got second place in People’s Choice award.
  • Sunday
    • Setting up Aimée’s student discount on Spark free public Wi-Fi.
    • Finally had a good weekend, so was able to mow the lawns for the first time in ages.  Despite this being Sunday, it is not my normal “work”, so I feel the Lord would approve.  Although, a stone did flick up and poke me in the eye.  I have a red eye now.  But, all the equipment worked properly for the first time in a very long time, so I was on a roll and managed to finish the job properly.

 

Leave a Reply

