Ministry Made Simple

Sunday Service

  • 7 August 2016
  • Pastor Arnie Hall
  • Simple: A study through Colossians

Simplicity Brings Clarity

  • Ministry Made Simple

Colossians 1:24

  • I am glad when I suffer for you in my body, for I am participating in the sufferings of Christ that continue for his body, the church. God has given me the responsibility of serving his church by proclaiming his entire message to you. This message was kept secret for centuries and generations past, but now it has been revealed to God’s people. For God wanted them to know that the riches and glory of Christ are for you Gentiles, too. And this is the secret: Christ lives in you. This gives you assurance of sharing his glory.
  • So we tell others about Christ, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all the wisdom God has given us. We want to present them to God, perfect in their relationship to Christ. That’s why I work and struggle so hard, depending on Christ’s mighty power that works within me.
  • I want you to know how much I have agonized for you and for the church at Laodicea, and for many other believers who have never met me personally. I want them to be encouraged and knit together by strong ties of love. I want them to have complete confidence that they understand God’s mysterious plan, which is Christ himself. In him lie hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

Luke 10:2

  • The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.

Col 2:2

  • That they may be encouraged in heart and united in love…
  • So that they may have the full riches of complete understanding…
  • In order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ…
  • In whom are hidden all treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

Summary:

  • The message is simple: God is perfect and I am not. Therefore I need God.
  • The method is simple: Tell my story.
  • The motivation is simple: So that they may inherit what I have already received.

 


 

This week:

  • Monday:
    • Trying to get Visual Studio Team Services accepted as enterprise change management tool, in addition to Sprint management tool.
    • Missed 7:30pm train to pick up Hamish from Manurewa St John Cadets at 8pm. He had to organise his own ride home. Silly me. Got engrossed in coding an Entity Framework data access layer to a database, for an API service layer call, to a new web site I’m creating (4 layers) just so we can have an Intranet portal to a protected database.
  • Tuesday:
    • Service Pack 20 went into production tonight. An incremental change. Completed Copper access type. Started (but did not enable) Voice product type.
    • Went to hear Sy Rodgers preach at our church about healing from abuse. He’s awesome. Realised that the last time I heard him preach live was at Wellington Elim; coincidentally on the occasion of Tane’s baby dedication, 19 years earlier.
  • Wednesday
    • Took bike in for 1000 km first service.
    • A night at home, interrupted by a dance rehearsal for Oscar night (August 20th) talent show item.
  • Thursday
    • Again, work from home. Again, another project heartbeat meeting. Again, justifying why some things made the latest service pack release and some other things are still pending.
    • 2nd night leading at Man To Man church small group. We went over time, as all the men were really into sharing. It was fabulous.
  • Friday
    • A frustrating day attempting to superimpose the Style Framework over top of my new web site. Will have to back out and start again on Monday.
    • Gave myself a scare on the ride home. First, my gas light was flashing all the way on the motorway. Second, after I filled up and took off from the lights, my wheel did something really strange and wobbly. I nearly fell off. It wasn’t until I read the Manual later that night that I realised I nearly pulled my first wheelie. Not an experience I particularly want to repeat any time soon (especially with my wrist still only at 50% strength).
  • Saturday
    • Had an excellent meeting with my Ngati Kuia representative, talking about my tribal links. He was doing the rounds, and graciously agreed to meet me at my church before my Toastmasters meeting. Toastmasters was fun as usual. We decided we were each other’s “Kith” (not Kin).
    • Rushed home to be with my family for special farewell meal with Tane and Jess before they take off for their 3 week European holiday (with her mum and aunty). It’s a slightly awkward but nevertheless hugely fantastic opportunity for an OE. Many stories were told.
  • Sunday
    • Hamish had earned some money during the holidays, and this week purchased a rather expensive gaming chair. It arrived to my office on Friday. We drove in today to go get it. We brought it home and assembled it together. It’s a Monster. (Actually it’s a Gorilla Gaming Chair.) Hamish drove all the way and even managed a parallel park. His skills are growing.
    • Aimee’s latest school report had an error in one subject (a clerical error). This has now been cleared up and it appears she may be getting an Excellence. I’ve very proud of her.

 

Leave a Reply

