The Passover

Sunday Service

  • 20 March 2016
  • Pastor Arnie Hall
  • Passover

Luke 22:7

Now the Festival of Unleavened Bread arrived, with the Passover lamb is sacrificed. Jesus sent Peter and john ahead and said, “Go and prepare the Passover meal, so we can eat it together.”

“Where do you want us to prepare it?” they asked him.

He replied, “As soon as you enter Jerusalem, a man carrying a pitcher of water will meet you. Follow him. At the house he enters, say to the owner, ‘The Teacher asks: We reis the guest room where I can eat the Passover meal with my disciples?’ He will take you upstairs to a large room that is already set up. That is where you should prepare our meal.” They went off to the city and found everything just as Jesus had said, and they prepared the Passover meal there.

When the time came, Jesus and the apostles sat down together at the table. Jesus said, “I have been very eager to eat this Passover meal with you before my suffering begins. For I tell you now that I won’t eat this meal again until its meaning is fulfilled in the Kingdom of God.”

Then he hook a cup of wine and gave thanks to God for it. Then he said, “Take this and share it amount yourselves. For I will not drink win again until the Kingdom of God has come.”

He took some bread and gave thanks to God for it. Then he broke it in pieces and gave it to the disciples, saying “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.”

After supper he took another cup of wine and said, “This cup is the new covenant between God and his people – an agreement confirmed in blood, which is poured out as a sacrifice for you.”

 

Meaning:

  • Location is important: You can talk to certain people about certain situations in certain places.
  • Jesus fulfils the original meaning of the Passover. His sacrifice covers our sins. His righteousness becomes our cover. Not so that we can continue to sin, but so that we can be forgiven and accepted. Choosing to continue to sin, is to reject the free gift of Jesus.

Our new mission:

  1. No longer to kill and destroy our enemies but to tell others about Him. (Evangelise)
  2. Help others grow. (Make disciples)

 

 


 

 

This week:

  • Attending 2nd class on Cults by Grace Adams.
  • Felt inspired to write my own testimony of “Why I Am Not a Mormon.” I expect the fallout to come later in the week.
  • Attended the funeral of Tony Chisholm. Was a joyous celebration of a successful Christian man. Sad for the family, but lovely to see his extended whanau come together. Held at Auckland City Elim Church, I bumped into many familiar faces.
  • Watched The Revenant. Was very violent. I imagine it would be quite touching, for an American.
  • Completed my first Agile Scrum Sprint. Commencing Iteration 2. I’m going to be Scrum Master in Iteration 3. Training? We don’t need no stinking training!
  • Learned how to query LDAP from SQL Server so that I can auto-populate a [Users] table from the contents of an AD security group. This closes the loop, when a CSR adds a user to a role in the Spark Digital Portal. The query is quick, so I can schedule it to poll every hour, instead of once a day. For those not technically minded: this is a very clever integration of a couple of technologies. I didn’t invent it, but the application of it is very useful.
  • Attended boot camp, as normal, but then had to jog home. Apart from ½ an hour waiting for a train to get me from Puhinui to Homai, I walked or jogged the entire distance. Took me 2 hours in today. So I exercised from 9AM to 12PM. I couldn’t have done that 6 months ago, so the regime is working. I’ve lost weight from 122kg to 110kg in that time.

 

Leave a Reply

