METTLE Weekly Newsletter Volume 4 Issue 16

METTLE

Volume 4 Issue 16

Monday 27 April 2009

Hippolite Musings

Aimee at Rock and Mineral Club open day

Thought for the Day

Gentlemen,

As I write this, I’m also preparing to attend the 50th birthday party of my best friend.  I must admit to some trepidation.  The theme is “Dress Outrageous” and he’s invited our (non-Christian) squash club.  This promises to be an interesting night.

UPDATE:

My fears were unfounded; my friend was a great host; the party went well; some conversations were initiated; some relationships were strengthened.

This coming week, my employer is sending me to Auckland for the day for a project meeting.  In the evening, I’ve been invited to speak to a combined meeting of the Auckland Dot Net and SQL Server User groups.  The topic is Microsoft Certification, a subject for which I’m gaining a reputation of being somewhat intimately familiar.  My hope is that Microsoft itself will somehow notice my voluntary community efforts, and reward them with a speaking opportunity at their national conference later in the year.

FROM FIONA:

This Sunday our son Hamish will be getting baptised at Elim.  The service will start at 6:00pm and should finish around 7:30pm.  For those who don’t know the address for Elim, it is 22 Tennyson Street, which runs between Tory and Cambridge.  You won’t miss it; there is a big red sign.  Fiona’s Mum and Dad are coming up from the South Island and will be here too.  Could you pray for their safe travel and for Hamish as he prepares?  We look forward to seeing you on Sunday.

Blessings,

James


Foreign Correspondent

 

UNICEF Calls for Legal Abortion

in Dominican Republic
By By Piero A. Tozzi, J.D. and Paola Ocejo

Despite direct intervention by a top United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) official, the Dominican Republic appears poised to adopt a new constitution that protects human life “from conception until death.”


Correspondence

A trader on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange. Photo / AP

The failure of financial regulation

4:00AM Friday Apr 17, 2009

Robert Wade

Most of the discussion of the causes of the global economic crisis has focused on the failure of financial regulation.

  • Robert Wade is professor of political economy, London School of Economics and winner of the Leontief Prize in Economics 2008.

This is an interesting read from the NZ Herald.


Why I’m An AGW Critic

Why Third Year Arctic Ice Will Increase Next Year15 04 2009

Guest post by Steven Goddard

In spite of the excess global sea ice area and the freezing Catlin crew, AGW proponents have recently ramped up the rhetoric about “melting ice caps.”

  • AGW means:
    • Anthropogenic Global Warming
    • human-induced climate change

Sunday Service

Praise & Worship

  • Cover the Earth
  • Everlasting God
  • He is Lord

Things You Need To Know

  • Capital Care Health Centre AGM, Tuesday 28 April @ 7:30pm (after 6pm prayer meeting). We were shown a video of interviews with the staff; giving testimonies of saving babies’ lives.
  • 5 weeks until Global Day of Prayer
  • Christian Singles Ball: A young woman at Karori Baptist Church has a vision to organise a ball this year in Wellington. The date is set (16 May), and a venue and caterers are booked! If you are interested and keen to help, contact Pastor Mike Enright: mike@kbc.org.nz.

Crunchies

  • 3-year-old birthday
  • New job
  • 2-years wedding anniversary
  • Purely Girls Camp just finished; very successful.
  • Hurricane vs. Brumbies 56:7!

Tithes & Offerings

  • Psalm 96:7-9 (the Message)
  • Bravo, GOD, Bravo! Everyone join in the great shout: Encore! In awe before the beauty, in awe…

Sunday Service

  • Former Series: The God Factor
  • New Series: Prayer
  • Preacher: Jeannie Knott
  • Topic: Breakthrough Prayer
  • Scripture: Ask and it shall be given

Preamble

  • ANZAC day yesterday
  • Jeannie is on the Wellington Council of Churches
  • ANZAC service is still a Christian service!
  • We’re blessed that we’ve got the privilege to come boldly and confidently before the throne of grace, knowing that Jesus has paid the price.

Word Power

  • But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!
  • John 15:7 (NLT)
  • “And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for, Keep on seeking [and you will find; keep on knocking and it will be opened to you.]
  • For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.”
  • Luke 11:9-10 (NLT)

Random Thoughts from Jeannie

  • Don’t answer cellphones when you’re speeding along the motorway
  • Don’t choose to get offended.
  • If possible, don’t choose to be offensive; however, the gospel is an offence to those who are perishing. A day is coming when you won’t be able to help becoming an offence. You will have to stand up and declare Jesus is the only way to salvation.

Confidence

  • Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.
  • And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.
  • 1 John 5:14-15 (NKJV)
  • She gave a testimony of trusting God to solve her problem with curtains (i.e. needed replacement)
  • What is the will of God? What may we legitimately feel confident to pray about? (see list below)

Prayer – What a Gift

  • Eternal Life – John 3:16
  • Holy Spirit – Luke 11:13
  • Healing – Isaiah 55:5
  • Peace – John 14:17

Why I Am A Creationist

Coming to NZ: The Voyage that Shook the World

With the film now rapidly being readied for release we wanted to update our supporters as to our plans for the official ‘launch’ on the local NZ scene. On a global scale TV rights have been sold and we anticipate it will be televised to a large international audience. But preceding this we are planning to screen the film locally in cinemas (where possible) and elsewhere in suitable churches. Currently we are locating cinemas able to cater for ‘Blu-ray High Definition (HD)’ format, so let us know of any such cinemas in your area.


Humour

Set your phasers on fun!

http://tvnz.co.nz/entertainment-news/star-trek-movie-review-2656142


Book Review

 

Title

Psalms Book 1

Author

Mainly King David

Description

Songs of praise and worship to the LORD.

Contents

  1. Blessed is the man
  2. Why do the nations rage?
  3. LORD, how they have increased who trouble me!
  4. Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
  5. Give ear to my words, O LORD
  6. O LORD, do not rebuke me in Your anger
  7. O LORD my God, in You I put my trust;
  8. O LORD, our Lord, How excellent is Your name in all the earth.
  9. I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart;
  10. Why do You stand afar off, O LORD?
  11. In the LORD I put my trust;
  12. Help. LORD, for the godly man ceases!
  13. How long, O LORD?  Will You forget me forever?
  14. The fool has said in his heart, “There is no God.”
  15. LORD, who may abide in Your tabernacle?
  16. Preserve me, O God, for in You I put my trust
  17. Hear a just cause, O LORD, Attend to my cry;
  18. I will love You, O LORD, my strength.
  19. The heavens declare the glory of God;
  20. May the LORD answer you in the day of trouble;
  21. The king shall have joy in Your strength, O LORD;
  22. My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?
  23. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
  24. The earth is the LORD’s, and all its fullness
  25. To You, O LORD, I lift up my soul.
  26. Vindicate me, O LORD, For I have walked in my integrity.
  27. The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?
  28. To You I will cry, O LORD my Rock;
  29. Give unto the LORD, O you mighty ones
  30. I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up
  31. In You, O LORD, I put my trust;
  32. Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.
  33. Rejoice in the LORD, O you righteous!
  34. I will bless the LORD at all times;
  35. Plead my cause, O LORD, with those who strive with me;
  36. An oracle within my heart concerning the transgression of the wicked
  37. Do not fret because of evildoers
  38. O LORD, do not rebuke me in Your wrath
  39. I said, “I will guard my ways, lest I sin with my tongue”
  40. I waited patiently for the LORD; and He inclined to me
  41. Blessed is he who considers the poor;

Review

I’m not an arty type.  Most of these go right past my heart.  But even for me, there are some gems in here. 

I once listened to a 10-hour tape series on the six verses of Psalm 23 by Mark Gorman.  Each verse was a one-hour lesson, with some extras thrown in for context.  It was awesome.  There is so much depth to these, that is only hinted at by our English translation.  I fully recommend the experience.  I still possess those tapes (somewhere in our catacombs), if anybody is interested.

That shepherd boy David, sure was prolific.  And if he were alive today, one might be tempted to classify him as Emo.  ‘Nuff said.

7/10


Bible Reading

 

Week to 3 May 2009

  1. Psalms 105:1 – 106:48
  2. Psalms 107:1 – 111:10
  3. Psalms 112:1 – 119:32
  4. Psalms 119:33 – 119:76
  5. Psalms 120:1 – 132:18
  6. Psalms 133:1 – 140:13
  7. Psalms 141:1 – 150:6

Week to 10 May 2009

  1. 1 Kings 1:1 – 2:27
  2. 1 Kings 2:28 – 4:34
  3. 1 Kings 5:1 – 7:51
  4. 1 Kings 8:1 – 9:9
  5. 1 Kings 9:10 – 11:43
  6. 2 Chronicles 1:1 – 5:1
  7. 2 Chronicles 5:2 – 6:42

Don’t forget you can look up these references for yourselves at: http://biblereader.cloudapp.net/.  I see from the application count that at least some of you are using it.


End Notes

  • METTLE is an acronym for Men’s Evangelical Team Together for Learning Experiences. We are primarily Christian businessmen from Wellington, who meet occasionally in the CBD to encourage each other in our daily walk with Jesus. This Weekly Collaborative Blog (WCB) is our primary means of communication.  If you know of anyone who may benefit from this WCB, you are welcome to forward them along. Similarly, if your circumstances are such that membership in this distribution list is no longer relevant, then hit reply and type UNSUBSCRIBE to have it removed.
  • If you choose to respond to any item raised in this WCB, please indicate clearly which items you wish to remain Private, as any correspondence may be considered Public and could be published.
  • If this fortnight’s newsletter has been of benefit to you, why not drop a line and say so.  Or better yet, visit the TVORNZ website to read past issues and add a comment!
  • Published by The Voice of Reason, New Zealand, copyright (C) 2009

Leave a Reply

